International Conference on Functional Programming

Call for Papers
ICFP 2006

September 18-20, 2006
Portland Oregon

Important dates

Submission deadline  23:00  April 7, 2006 Apia, Samoan time (Friday)
Author review period
23:00 May 14 to 23:00 May 16, 2006, Apia, Samoan time
Author notification          
May 27, 2006
Final paper due 
26 June, 2006
18-20 September, 2006


ICFP 2006 seeks original papers on the art and science of functional programming. Submissions are invited on all topics ranging from principles to practice, from foundations to features, from abstraction to application. The scope includes all languages that encourage functional programming, including both purely applicative and imperative languages, as well as languages with objects and concurrency. Particular topics of interest include:

Papers in the last two categories need not necessarily report original research results; they may instead, for example, report practical experience that will be useful to others, re-usable programming idioms, or elegant new ways of approaching a problem.

Submission guidelines

Due date & time: Submissions must be filed at by 23:00 Friday,  April 7,  Apia, Samoa time. Some equivalents to this time are

For other time-zones/locations, see the worldclock.

Submission URL:

Submission instructions: Authors should submit an abstract (300 words max) together with a full paper by the submission deadline. Improved versions of a paper may be submitted at any point before the submission deadline using the same web interface.

Each paper should explain its contributions in both general and technical terms, clearly identifying what has been accomplished, explaining why it is significant, and comparing it with previous work. Authors should strive to make the technical content of their papers understandable to a broad audience.

Submitted papers must adhere to SIGPLAN's republication policy.  Authors of accepted papers will be required to sign the ACM copyright form. Proceedings will be published by ACM Press.

LaTeX class file: Available from the SIGPLAN Author Information page

Formatting instructions: Papers must be submitted in either PDF format or as PostScript documents that are interpretable by Ghostscript. They must be printable on US Letter sized paper. Individuals for which this requirement is a hardship should contact the program chair at least one week before the deadline.

Submissions should be no more than 12 pages (including bibliography) in standard ACM conference format: two columns, nine-point font on a ten-point baseline, with pages 20pc (3.33in) wide and 54pc (9in) tall, with a column gutter of 2pc (0.33in).

Authors wishing to supply additional material to the reviewers beyond the page limit can do so in clearly marked appendices, on the understanding that reviewers are not required to read the appendices.

You need not include categories, keywords, etc. in the submission, though you are welcome to do so.

Submissions that do not meet these guidelines will not be considered. The submission deadline and length limitations are firm.

Author Response Period:

Authors will be given a 48-hour period (from May 14 at 11PM Apia, Samoan time until May 16 at 11PM) to read and respond to the reviews for their papers before the PC meeting.   Details of the response process will be announced by email a few days beforehand.

Special Issue of the Journal of Functional Programming

The top submitted papers, as determined by the program committee, will be invited to submit journal versions for a special issue of the Journal of Functional Programming.

Student Attendees:

Students who have a paper accepted for the conference are offered student membership of SIGPLAN free for one year. As members of SIGPLAN they may apply for travel fellowships from the PAC fund.


Conference Chair: John Reppy (University of Chicago)
Program Chair: Julia Lawall (DIKU, University of Copenhagen)
Program Committee: Torben Amtoft (Kansas State University)
Matthias Blume (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago)
Robby Findler (University of Chicago)
Alain Frisch (INRIA Rocquencourt)
Suresh Jagannathan (Purdue University)
Patricia Johann (Rutgers University)
Yukiyoshi Kameyama (University of Tsukuba)
Andres Löh (Universität Bonn)
Simon Marlow (Microsoft Research Ltd.)
Greg Morrisett (Harvard University)
Riccardo Pucella (Northeastern University)
Doaitse Swierstra (Utrecht University)
Joe Wells (Heriot-Watt University)
Hongwei Xi (Boston University)
Steve Zdancewic (University of Pennsylvania)


Julia Lawall